

RESULTS OF THE MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS HELD ON 24 APRIL 2013

25/04/2013

The Electoral Commission (IEC) said the African National Congress won 10 of the 19 municipal ward by-elections which took place on Wednesday, 24 April 2013. Of the remaining seats, five went to the Democratic Alliance and three went to the Independent Candidates, whereas Pan Africanist Congress of Azania won one seat.

Voter turnout varied between 73,33% and 19,50% with an average of 33.03%.

There were two (2) by-elections for the Eastern Cape, one of which was uncontested. The new councillors all represent the African National Congress. They are:

• Nceba Hokwana in Ward 5, Engcobo [Engcobo] Municipality – EC137. This ward was uncontested. The seat was retained by the party;

• Bandile Nicholas Nqodi in Ward 5, Elundini [Mount Fletcher] Municipality – EC141. The seat was retained by the party.

A further two (2) by-elections each took place in the Free State and North West provinces. The new councillors are:

• Morena William Thabiso Mabaleng, an independent candidate in Ward 7, Setsoto [Senekal] Municipality – FS191. In the Free State. The seat was previously represented by the African National Congress

• Nokuthula Mirriam Mtshali of the African National Congress in Ward 10, Metsimaholo [Sasolburg] Municipality – FS204. In the Free State. The seat was retained by the party

• Glen Michael Mutle of the African National Congress in Ward 9, Rustenberg [Rustenberg] Municipality –NW373. In North West. The seat was retained by the party.

• Paul Stephanus Bam of the Democratic Alliance in Ward 14, Tswaing [Dalareyville] Municipality – NW382. In North West. The seat was retained by the party

One (1) by-election each took place in Gauteng, Northern Cape and Western Cape. The new councillors are:

• Christopher Glen Santana of the Democratic Alliance in Ward 115, City of Johannesburg [Johannesburg] Municipality – JHB,-Gauteng. The seat was retained by the party;

• Paul Vries, an independent candidate, in Ward 3, in !KHEIS [Groblershoop] Municipality – NC084 in Northern Cape. The seat was previously represented by the African National Congress, and

• Adriana Maria Joubert of the Democratic Alliance in Ward 7, Hessequa [Heidelberg/Riversdale] Municipality – WC042. The seat was retained by the party.



Seven (7) by-elections took place in Limpopo. The new councillors are:

• Mahlalele Donald Hlangwini of the African National Congress in Ward 24, Greater Tzaneen [Tzaneen] Municipality – LIM333. The seat was retained by the party;

• Thomani Paul Thabela of the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania in Ward 33, Thulamela [Thohoyandou] Municipality – LIM343. The seat was previously represented by the African National Congress

• Selege Paul Diketane of the African National Congress in Ward 25, Makhuduthamaga [Ngwaritsi] Municipality – LIM473. The seat was retained by the party.

• Kotupo Elizabeth Dieale of the African National Congress in Ward 27, Makhuduthamaga [Ngwaritsi] Municipality – LIM473. The seat was retained by the party

• Phashe Jonas Marutla of the African National Congress in Ward 28, Makhuduthamaga [Ngwaritsi] Municipality – LIM473. The seat was retained by the party

• Putina Joel Hlatywayo of the African National Congress in Ward 20, Greater Tubatse [Burgersfort/Ohrigstad/Eastern Tubastse] Municipality – LIM475. The seat was previously represented by an independent councillor.

• Alfred Welly Mboyane an Independent candidate in Ward 23, Greater Tubatse [Burgersfort/Ohrigstad/Eastern Tubastse] Municipality – LIM475. The seat was previously represented by the African National Congress.

Three (3) by-elections took place in Mpumalanga,. The new councillors are:

• Werner Le Grange of the Democratic Alliance in Ward 17, Mbombela [Nelspruit] Municipality – MP322. The seat was retained by the party;

• Trudie Maria Johanna Grova Morgan of the Democratic Alliance in Ward 30, Mbombela [Nespruit] Municipality – MP322. The seat was retained by the party;

• Jabulile Zodwa Mtileni of the African National Congress in Ward 10, Nkomazi[Nkomazi] Municipality – MP324. This ward was uncontested. The seat was retained by the party.

The detailed results for each ward are available on the IEC website on

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

- Ensuring free, fair, transparent and credible elections -

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386 For media interviews: Please email requests to spokesperson@elections.org.za

[Source: www.iec.org.za]