

WARDS TO BE CONTESTED IN THE MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS OF 24 APRIL 2013

09/04/2013

Municipal ward by-elections will take place in all nine provinces on Wednesday, 24 April 2013.

A total of 20 wards will be contested. Voting will take place in 112 voting districts in the following wards:

Eastern Cape:

- Ward 5 in Engcobo [Engcobo] Municipality EC137 with 3 226 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.
- Ward 5 in Elundini [Mount Fletcher] Municipality EC141 with 4 115 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

Free State:

- Ward 7 in Setsoto [Senekal] Municipality FS191 with 3 845 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 10 in Metsimaholo [Sasolburg] Municipality FS204 with 2 925 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.

Gauteng:

• Ward 115 in City of Johannesburg [Johannesburg] Municipality – JHB with 17 078 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.

KwaZulu-Natal:

• Ward 22 in Abaqulusi [Vryheid] Municipality – KZN263 with 6 168 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.

Limpopo:

• Ward 24 in Greater Tzaneen [Tzaneen] Municipality – LIM333 with 5 250 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.



- Ward 33 in Thulamela [Thohoyandou] Municipality LIM343 with 8 054 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 25 in Makhuduthamaga [Ngwaritsi] Municipality LIM473 with 4 357 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 27 in Makhuduthamaga [Ngwaritsi] Municipality LIM473 with 3 527 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 28 in Makhuduthamaga [Ngwaritsi] Municipality LIM473 with 4 455 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 20 in Greater Tubatse [Burgersfort/Ohrigstad/Eastern Tubatse] Municipality LIM475 with 4 800 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by an independent councillor and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.
- Ward 23 in Greater Tubatse [Burgersfort/Ohrigstad/Eastern Tubatse] Municipality LIM475 with 4 260 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.

Mpumalanga:

- Ward 17 in Mbombela [Nelspruit] Municipality MP322 with 6 267 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 30 in Mbombela [Nelspruit] Municipality MP322 with 7 271 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 10 in Nkomazi [Nkomazi] Municipality MP324 with 4 725 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.

North West:

- Ward 9 in Rustenburg [Rustenburg] Municipality NW373 with 5 506 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.
- Ward 14 in Tswaing [Delareyville] Municipality NW382 with 3 118 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.



Northern Cape:

• Ward 3 in !KHEIS [Groblershoop] Municipality – NC084 with 2 793 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

Western Cape:

• Ward 7 in Hessequa [Heidelberg/Riversdale] Municipality – WC042 with 3 653 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.

For more information on these by-elections including special votes, contact your local Municipal Electoral Officer during office hours. Contact details for Municipal Electoral Officers are available on the IEC website at www.elections.org.za under Contact Us.

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

-Ensuring free, fair and credible elections-

Centurion 9 April 2013

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386

For media interviews: Please email requests to spokesperson@elections.org.za

You and also find the IEC on -

• Facebook: www.facebook.com/IECSouthAfrica

• Twitter: @IECSouthAfrica

You Tube: www.youtube.com/user/IECSouthAfrica



ELECTION TIMETABLE FOR ALL MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS CALLED ON OR BEFORE 15 MARCH 2013 TO BE HELD ON 24 APRIL 2013

The cut-off dates for the various electoral processes for these by-elections are as follows:

- 15 March: Notice calling the by-election on or before
- 20 March: Certification of the voters' roll and making certified segments available for inspection
- 20 March: Notices: List of and particulars pertaining to voting stations and mobile voting stations
- 3 April at 17h00: Cut-off date and time for submission of nomination of candidates
- 4 April: Opening of applications for special votes
- 4 April: Cut-off date to notify party/independent nominator of non-compliance of outstanding candidate documents
- 9 April at 17h00: Cut-off date and time for party/independent nominator to submit outstanding ward candidate documents
- 10 April: Compilation and certification of lists of candidates contesting a ward
- 10 April: Issue certificates to candidates
- 11 April: Closing of applications for special votes
- 23 April: Special votes at voting stations and special vote home visits 08h00 to 17h00
- 24 April: By-election date

TIMETABLE FOR WARD BY-ELECTIONS IN MBOMBELA WARDS 17 & 30 AND NKOMAZI WARD 10 CALLED ON 18 MARCH 2013 TO BE HELD ON 24 APRIL 2013

The cut-off dates for the various electoral processes for these by-elections are as follows:

- 18 March: Notice calling the by-election on or before
- 20 March: Certification of the voters' roll and making certified segments available for inspection
- 20 March: Notices: List of and particulars pertaining to voting stations and mobile voting stations
- 3 April at 17h00: Cut-off date and time for submission of nomination of candidates
- 4 April: Opening of applications for special votes
- 4 April: Cut-off date to notify party/independent nominator of non-compliance of outstanding candidate documents
- 9 April at 17h00: Cut-off date and time for party/independent nominator to submit outstanding ward candidate documents
- 10 April: Compilation and certification of lists of candidates contesting a ward
- 10 April: Issue certificates to candidates
- 11 April: Closing of applications for special votes
- 23 April: Special votes at voting stations and special vote home visits 08h00 to 17h00
- 24 April: By-election date

[Source: www.iec.org.za]