Welcome to Metsimaholo Local Municipality

The Metsimaholo Local Municipality is located in the Northern Free State. The geographical area of the municipality is 1717.0680 square kilometers. Metsimaholo means "big water" in Sesotho, due to the abundance of this resource in the area. It was formerly known as the Sasolburg Municipality. The three major towns that form part of Metsimaholo are Sasolburg (the municipal head office), Oranjeville, and Deneysville.

The total number of persons in the Metsimaholo Local Municipality is 154 658. The number of households is estimated as having increased from 32 360 (Census 2001) to 37 320. The municipality covers an area of 171709.6ha of which 45% has remained natural habitat. There are no formal land-based protected areas or RAMSAR sites in the municipality. Read more...

  • MM Profile
  • Resources
  • Media
  • Tourism

Mr. Steve Molala is the Municipal Manager of the Metsimaholo Local Municipality. He has more than 15 years’ working experience in the field of institutional development and management and that of teaching and capacity building. He has vast experience in grassroots work, general management and transformation and has also contributed to several research publications.  Read more...